News

What’s New in ownCloud 5 Community Edition: Undelete Deleted Files

I wanted to take a few minutes to discuss some of the more exciting features.

By ownCloud GmbH

owncloud

With the exciting launch last week of the ownCloud 5 Community Edition, I wanted to take a few minutes to discuss some of the more exciting features. The first I wanted to discuss is our new “Undelete Files” feature.

Everyone has accidently deleted a file now and then, or shared a folder and deleted a file. On most desktops, you can go to the trash and undelete, or permanently delete a file. Now the ownCloud 5 Community Edition now has that very same capability. So if your brother-in-law has deleted that baby picture you were sharing, simply go to the trashcan in the web interface, right mouse click on the file (or even folder) you want and select undelete.

The files are returned to where they were deleted from, with versions maintained. No need to un-invite your brother-in-law from future family gatherings (although you may want to change his access to “read only”).

But wait, there’s more!

You can also now manually delete sensitive files, while the system now automatically cleans up older files depending on age and user quota. So you can easily manage the size of your ownCloud storage.

Stay tuned for our next highlighted feature: Our completely rewritten photo gallery.

ownCloud GmbH

March 21, 2013

Ready to see what’s next?

We care about protecting your data. Here’s our Privacy Policy.

Read now:

New shiny things from all throughout this summer

New shiny things from all throughout this summer

In August, we had a lot of cool new things to present at ownCloud: Our partnership with NAS industry leader QNAP, our all-new website, a new major server release and a new iOS App release full of new functionality. And the Privacy Shield ruling from mid-July still reverberates across boardrooms and newsrooms.

read more